Auto-Landsat

Having returned from the wonderful wavelength conference which I now recommend be part of any remote sensing students calendar, I realized how much I had been missing looking at satellite images, and how little I’ve engaged with Landsat8 in general. Thus, I spent today writing a python scraper that pulls the RGB previews of each Landsat8 scene given a GPS coordinate input and spits out an animated gif of the tiles covering that region.

Naturally I started with Dublin, with some pretty hilarious results due to the massive amount of cloud cover! I’m looking forward to pulling out some gifs of other areas, I’ll take requests on it too if anyone reading this would like one of a specific region. The georeference is off I’m aware, but I unfortunately don’t have enough time to sink in to solve that issue, check out the results in HD on my webpage here!

James

LC82050232013146LGN00

Leave a Reply

