Ethan Carter

I stumbled across a fantastic article by a video game studio who are using photogrammetry to make assets and insert them directly into a 3D environment. They note some critical methods and ideas to take forward when conducting a photoscan, and the models they present on webGL are really awesome! So awesome, in fact, that I’ve produced a couple of my own from data collected by my PhD supervisor from a recent trip to Argentina.

Having seen this and pondering it I decided to give making an interactive environment a go this weekend, and have produced a simple example with some crude models for a project I am involved with. The results, while basic, were very easy to produce, and so It’s got me thinking about other ways of communicating geodata interactively. Watch this space!

James

Leave a Reply

