Sentinel Bot

I’ve been interested in the Sentinel satellite missions, but somehow one can get very distanced from these things unless you’re actively working on them or using their products in some sort of project. As such, I decided I needed a stream of images to keep me interested, and so went about having images pulled down automatically.

On top of this, considering I’m quite fond of Twitter (As the only social media I actively use), I decided to try and have the best of both worlds, so others could share in the Sentinel image goodness.

Having thought about it enough, and having a day free on Saturday, I decided to get to it. I hooked up various parts in an image processing pipeline and sentinel_bot was born. The idea was to have a bot which automatically searches for images which are relatively cloud free, and produce a decent-quality image for direct upload to twitter. It’s having some teething issues (Color balance) but I’m tweaking it slightly to try and make sure the images are at least intelligible.

At the minute it’s tweeting once every 40 minutes or so, but I’ll probably slow that down once it’s gotten a few hundred up.

In celebration, I’ve collated 10 interesting ones so far into an album below (click to enlarge), if you want to check it out it’s at www.twitter.com/sentinel_bot

2 thoughts on “Sentinel Bot

Leave a Reply

