A slippy map for Sentinel bot

Over the weekend I decided to expand on what was in sentinel bot‘s portfolio by having an automatically updating slippy map, which plots where the point for which sentinel bot has found an image is in the world, as long with the basic metadata of date acquired and lat/lon. I was trying to the leaflet’s marker-clusterer to work but to no avail, couldn’t quite get the knack of it! If anyone has experience with it I’d love to hear from you. I continued with just the pins nonetheless!

One really cool github project I used was this, which allows you to cycle through basemap providers for leaflet and provides you with the javascript code for inserting into your own map. I chose Heidelberg university’s surfer roads for no reason in particular, but may change this in the future. I think I’ll be returning to that github for future slippy maps!

In any case, the product is not perfect, but gives an interesting view of what the bots activities have been for the week it’s been active. I’m not trying to reinvent Earth Explorer, so will probably spend no more time on this, but it was an enjoyable pursuit!

Check the map here.

Leave a Reply

